If you give a mouse a cookie….

If you give a mouse a cookie, or in my case if you give a mom a few hours…  It is amazing as what can get accomplished!

My amazing husband took the kids out of the house for the day.  I was so excited to actually clean the house, and I mean clean!  I vacuumed the rugs, washed the rug in the family room, cleaned the toy room, dusted all downstairs, washed the kitchen floor, put dinner in the crock pot.  Baked chicken so that dinner would be easier to prep later in the week and settled on the couch for a nap.

But wait…

just as I settled in, my husband called.  One of the boys had thrown up and they were on their way home.  As soon as they got home the other boy threw up.  So here I was with a clean house and two sick boys.   Our daughter was set to go to my parents today for a week of “Nana Camp” so I called them and they took her a day early.    So quick packing and a 5 hour drive for me (2 1/2 hours each way).

Thankfully, when  I got back home at 9pm, the boys were feeling better and sound asleep.  Phew!  A little cleaning and we would be good as new!

Think again…

About this time, my husband was hit with the bug and joined the ranks of the sick.

So today, I am thankful for the time to have to clean the house yesterday, that two boys are feeling better today, that my daughter is off enjoying camp and away from the germs.  My husband is still down for the count upstairs.

The boys and I will play and do laundry all day!

Talk to you soon,

Lyn

Leave a Reply

